Oh My, Musées!

In my first few weeks here, I’ve sought out some less touristy places to scope out (well, mostly). There are so many gorgeous and expansive landmarks here. It can be overwhelming! However, added bonus: youth/students under 26 often get discounted or free admission into places!! Always ask about that when buying tickets.

My first destination was the Musée de l’Orangerie. It’s in a very central location, and it’s not commonly known among travelers. There was virtually no line to get in. And I was absolutely blown away by this museum! They have quite the vast collection. I saw Monet’s famous Water Lillies. They also had Picasso, Rousseau, and Renoir to name a few. So here you have this museum with so many gorgeous pieces of art, a short wait time to get in, and affordable pricing! I definitely recommend it.

On the artwork note, I’ve also visited a couple museums with fashion exhibitions. For those of you with an interest in fashion, these are MUST sees. I visited the Musée Bourdelle and the Musée Yves Saint Laurent Paris. The fashion exhibition in the Bourdelle is only there until November 17, 2019. It was absolutely stunning and discussed the forgotten importance of the backsides of our clothing – hence it’s name “Backside Dos Á La Mode.” However, even if you find yourself in the area after this specific exhibit is gone, I recommend you still check this place out. The layout of the building proves interesting, and they have a gorgeous garden. The landscaping features massive bronze sculptures. It’s just neat to see! As a fashion/art student, I was able to get free admission with my student ID. And I’m fairly certain youths get discounted tickets here.

Then we have the YSL museum, which is a permanent collection featuring YSL’s actual work studio. The very studio in which he read, drew designs, dressed prototypes onto models, the whole nine yards. It has been so perfectly preserved. I felt as though I was walking up the staircase that would lead me to the man himself. I felt that he’d pop into the room with an army of models at any moment. The museum also features a variety of his collections through time, accessories, and two short movies about his life. This is a permanent collection – so you fashion and art lovers have no excuse not to go!! I also received free admission here.

I also made the time to check out Palace of Versailles (the touristy spot on this list). I’ve never seen a palace so grand. Each room in itself is the size of an entire apartment. The ceilings climb high, while the extensive artwork covers every inch of the rooms. The garden is beautifully manicured (also massive in size). The ornamentation of the palace really takes you back into time. You’re practically time traveling back to a dinner party with Louis XIV. I recommend getting the self guided audio tour. It’s nice to learn a little bit about each room as you walk around. This is by far the largest attraction mentioned here today. Make sure you’re wearing your walking shoes! Luckily, Versailles also has several cafes, so don’t worry about getting hungry! But you’ll definitely want to arrive early here. The lines become insane. Carve out a day for Versailles!

These three places aren’t the only ones that have made my completed list so far, but they’re a good introduction for anybody seeking some museum/art visits!

What are you interested in hearing about?

Leave a comment